World War Z(ed) Is Heart Stopping Action From ‘A’ To ‘Z(ed)’

wwz-2

I have rarely seen a movie that has been non-stop, heart stopping action from A to Z(ed); but I can honestly say that World War Z(ed) is THAT movie. World War Z(ed) keeps you on the edge of your seat for 114 of the 116 minutes and you better hold on.

“The editing was excellent; quick and with no chance for you to relax between scenes”

Brad Pitt (Gerry Lane) really does show he can still act and roll with the best stunt people in Hollywood and was a pleasure to watch. I went with my wife to opening night and while she is not a sci-fi or zombie fan in anyway, even she came way saying she “…really liked it…”. Trust me folks when I say that she screamed at just the right places a she nearly jumped out of her seat a couple times.

Still of Brad Pitt and Kaniella Kertesz in World War Z(ed)

Still of Brad Pitt and Kaniella Kertesz in World War Z(ed)

The editing was excellent; quick and with no chance for you to relax between scenes. Special effects were off the charts and the zombies were well done. I have to say that of all the zombie movies I have seen (and there has been many starting with Night of the Living Dead – 1968 to Shaun of the Dead – 2004) the zombie’s in World War Z(ed) are the best rendered. This is a zombie nightmare that keeps on coming and coming and coming.

The supporting cast (this was really a Brad Pitt movie) was good but I found that Daniella Kertesz (Segen) was perhaps the best of the lot. She was wonderful. In my very humble opinion she did a fantastic job making her roll hers, portraying an Israeli army commando who gets caught up in the melee with Pitt. While a small roll she does end up saving his ass and provides great contrast for Pitt’s character.

World War Z (notice I left off the ‘ed’ – I still say zed and not zee. Hey, I’m part of the British Commonwealth and Canadian, what can I say) – okay, back to my thoughts – World War Z is, so far, the best summer movie and I give it a five out of five with a strong recommendation to go and watch it in the theatres.

I went to the Real 3D showing and loved it – no eye strain and coupled with the excellent effects made for a thrill ride experience.

One response to “World War Z(ed) Is Heart Stopping Action From ‘A’ To ‘Z(ed)’

Leave a Reply

